Aufrufe
vor 3 Monaten

WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - LOGISTICS 4/2017

  • Text
  • Logistics
  • Intralogistics
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - LOGISTICS 4/2017

Russia as a strategic

Russia as a strategic challenge as well as an opportunity Machinery and equipment 22,80% Automobiles and Trucks 10% Electrical and Electronic equipment 9,30% Pharmaceuticals 8,10% Plastics 4,70% Agricultural products 7,30% Other 37,80% = EU exports to Russia NEWS AND MARKETS In the past, Russia has described the EU as ‘our natural and most important partner’. However, the current state of affairs makes Russia a challenging market to be in; but the way in which industrial sector is adjusting to the EU sanctions on Russia shows the potential and opportunity of Russian market place. Sushen Doshi, International correspondent for World of Industries Russia is the largest country in the world, with a surface of over 17 million sq. kilometers, almost twice as much as the second largest, Canada. Although it has one of the lowest population densities, with only 8.5 inhabitants per sq. kilometer, it is still one of the most populous countries, with almost 145 million inhabitants. Russia’s population is mostly urban with more than 70 % living in cities. The capital city Moscow is the largest, with almost 12 million residents and St. Petersburg, an important economical and cultural hub is home to over 5 million people. Economic overview of Russia Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, the transition from a centrally-planned economy to market economy was unsuccessful for Russia. Its GDP fell from $ 500 billion in 1990 to less than WORLD OF INDUSTRIES – INTRALOGISTICS & DISTRIBUTION 4/2017

INTRALOGISTICS & DISTRIBUTION Publisher: Dipl.-Ing. Reiner Wesselowski (We) Email: r.wesselowski@vfmz.de 5% 68% 2,50% 2% Oil Gas and Coal Iron and Steel 21% Precious metals and Gemstones Aluminium 1,50% Chemicals Others = Russia’s exports to EU $ 200 billion in 1999. In an attempt to address the economic turmoil, the government began to privatize many Russian industries with exceptions in the energy and defence sectors. The devaluation of the Russian ruble in 1998 after the financial crisis known as the ‘ruble’ crisis, together with the continuous rise in oil prices from 1999 to 2008 propelled the Russian economy to grow at an annual average rate of 7 %. Heavily reliant on its energy sector exports, Russia was among the hardest-hit economies by the 2008-09 global economic crisis: the economy plunged by more than 7.5 % in 2009 as oil prices plummeted. The economic contraction was the sharpest since the 1990s, but no long-term damage was caused due to the government’s proactive and timely response to protect the key sectors of the economy, in particular the banking sector from the after effects of the crisis. As a result, Russia’s economy began to grow again and increased between 3.5 % and 4.5 %, from 2010 to 2012, before slowing down to less than 1.5 % in 2013 and 0.6 % in 2014. 2014 was a year shocks for the Russian economy as it experienced two major shocks. The first shock was the sharp decline in oil prices during the third and fourth quarter of Editor-in-chief: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Winfried Bauer (WB), Email: w.bauer@vfmz.de Editorial board: Dipl.-Medienwirtin (FH) Marie Krueger (MK), Holger Seybold (Sey) Svenja Stenner (SST) Dipl.-Ing. Manfred Weber (MW) Assistant editor: Svenja Stenner Design/layout: Sonja Schirmer, Doris Buchenau, Anette Fröder, Mario Wüst Epaper designer: Katja Rüdell, Mathias Göbel Managing editor: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Winfried Bauer Publishing house: Vereinigte Fachverlage GmbH Lise-Meitner-Str. 2, 55129 Mainz, Germany Commercial Register No.: HRB 2270, District Court of Mainz VAT-ID: DE149063659 Managing director: Dr. Olaf Theisen Publishing director: Dr. Michael Werner, Email: m.werner@vfmz.de Correspondent India: Sushen Haresh Doshi M.Sc. Advertising sales director: Beatrice Thomas-Meyer Email: b.thomas-meyer@vfmz.de Advertising sales manager: Andreas Zepig, Email: a.zepig@vfmz.de Oliver Jennen, Email: o.jennen@vfmz.de Advertising representatives: Austria Heinz-Joachim Greiner Email: verlagsbuero-greiner@vfmz.de China, India Andreas Zepig, Email: a.zepig@vfmz.de France Marc Jouanny, Email: marc-jouanny@wanadoo.fr Great Britain, Ireland Roberto Tondina, Email: roberto@ts-communications.co.uk Italy, Switzerland Hermann Jordi, Email: info@jordipublipress.de Sweden, Finland, Norway Malte Mezger Email: verlagsbuero-mezger@vfmz.de USA, Canada Bill Fox, Email: bfox@hfusa.com Advertising Disposition: Annemarie Benthin, Email: a.benthin@vfmz.de In cooperation with: Hannover Fairs International GmbH Messegelände, 30521 Hannover, Germany VDMA – German Engineering Federation Trade Association Materials Handling and Intralogistics Lyoner Straße 18, 60528 Frankfurt, Germany Additional Partner: Moskauer Deutsche Zeitung Internet: www.world-of-industries.com 9 th year (2017)