Aufrufe
vor 7 Monaten

WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - LOGISTICS 2/2017

  • Text
  • Logistics
  • Intralogistics
  • Industries
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - LOGISTICS 2/2017

Join the No. 1 trade

Join the No. 1 trade show network for intralogistics, transport logistics and supply chain management Germany Hannover 23 - 27 Apr 2018 Indonesia Jakarta 2 - 4 Mar 2017 Turkey Istanbul 16 - 19 Mar 2017 Brazil São Paulo 16 - 19 May 2017 Russia Moscow 19 - 21 Sep 2017 Canada Mississauga 25 - 28 Sep 2017 China Shanghai 31 Oct - 3 Nov 2017 Shenzhen 28 - 30 Jun 2017 India Mumbai 22 - 24 Feb 2018 Italy Milan 29 May - 1 Jun 2018 Australia Melbourne 24 - 26 Jul 2018 cemat.com Global Fairs. Global Business.

EDITORIAL The time is ripe for changes In 1913 Henry Ford introduced the assembly line to his automobile factory in Detroit. Without this revolutionary idea, 90 million cars a year would certainly not be rolling out of factory doors today. But a lot has happened in the last 100 years. Assembly line production makes sense especially when the products being manufactured are always identical. In automobile manufacturing, however, that is generally no longer true. To remain competitive, car manufacturers offer their customers more and more models, engines, versions and options. And so it now happens in certain price segments that no identical vehicles at all leave the line. What consequences could this situation have for how manufacturing is organized? I mean serious consequences – consistently thought through to the end, the result could be a new revolution with the result that traditional flow manufacturing as it is known today disappears from the factories of this world. Our intralogistics industry has already developed the technologies to do this: Intelligent Automated Guided Vehicles that are digitally networked and move around in production halls. Resources of this kind could be used to eliminate forever a line stoppage in manufacturing due to a lack of parts, for example, or because an employee is unable to keep up with the assigned cycle time, or to convert to a different model option. Automotive manufacturer Audi is already using this automated technology at its site in Neckarsulm, Germany, and is counting on a boost in productivity in the two-digit percentage range – so the time is indeed ripe for changes. Our intralogistics industry has already developed the technologies of the future Winfried Bauer Editor-in-chief (w.bauer@vfmz.de) INTRALOGISTICS & DISTRIBUTION Publisher: Dipl.-Ing. Reiner Wesselowski (We) Email: r.wesselowski@vfmz.de Editor-in-chief: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Winfried Bauer (WB), Email: w.bauer@vfmz.de Editorial board: Dipl.-Medienwirtin (FH) Marie Krueger (MK), Holger Seybold (Sey) Svenja Stenner (SST) Dipl.-Ing. Manfred Weber (MW) Assistant editor: Svenja Stenner Design/layout: Sonja Schirmer, Doris Buchenau, Anette Fröder, Mario Wüst Epaper designer: Katja Rüdell, Mathias Göbel Managing editor: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Winfried Bauer Publishing house: Vereinigte Fachverlage GmbH Lise-Meitner-Str. 2, 55129 Mainz, Germany Commercial Register No.: HRB 2270, District Court of Mainz VAT-ID: DE149063659 Managing director: Dr. Olaf Theisen Publishing director: Dr. Michael Werner, Email: m.werner@vfmz.de Correspondent India: Sushen Haresh Doshi M.Sc. Advertising sales director: Beatrice Thomas-Meyer Email: b.thomas-meyer@vfmz.de Advertising sales manager: Andreas Zepig, Email: a.zepig@vfmz.de Advertising representatives: Austria Heinz-Joachim Greiner Email: verlagsbuero-greiner@vfmz.de China, India Andreas Zepig, Email: a.zepig@vfmz.de France Marc Jouanny, Email: marc-jouanny@wanadoo.fr Great Britain, Ireland Roberto Tondina, Email: roberto@ts-communications.co.uk Italy, Switzerland Hermann Jordi, Email: info@jordipublipress.de Sweden, Finland, Norway Malte Mezger Email: verlagsbuero-mezger@vfmz.de USA, Canada Bill Fox, Email: bfox@hfusa.com Advertising Disposition: Annemarie Benthin, Email: a.benthin@vfmz.de In cooperation with: Hannover Fairs International GmbH Messegelände, 30521 Hannover, Germany VDMA – German Engineering Federation Trade Association Materials Handling and Intralogistics Lyoner Straße 18, 60528 Frankfurt, Germany Additional Partner: Moskauer Deutsche Zeitung Internet: www.en.engineering-news.net 9 th year (2017)